TVal is Blinging it

13Nov09

I don’t know what sparked my Italian father to bring out the bling. Maybe he became bored with his ho-hum style after 61 years, maybe he thought he could reinvent himself by adding a little pizzazz to his look, or maybe he just wanted to piss off my very conservative mother. Whatever his reason, I was naturally caught off guard by the gaudy, diamond-studded, crown-setting “TV” jutting from a 14-karat gold ring that he chose as the sole accessory for his friend’s wedding reception.

You might be wondering why I’m making such a deal about this. After all-TVal being a full-blooded Italian reared by a extended paisan family in the Bronx- you’d expect a little tinsel to be part of his daily get-up. Well, let me tell you a little about TVal. He’s no guy to don the tinsel. We’re talking about a chili-loving, sweatpants-wearing, unassuming, traditional Italian man who my mother can’t even get to wear his wedding band. And yes, he’s a bit of a softy. So when he saw my reaction to the eye sore of a ring, he blushed a little, pulled his hand back and then willingly agreed to get his camera out so I could snap this photo for my blog.
ring
Huge right-The ring and the girth of his fingers. The index alone has got to be at least 2” in diameter.
He must have dug through the archive to unearth this. I vaguely remember seeing it as a young girl, fishing through my mother’s jewelry case. But never have I seen him wear it for serious.

What I want to know is, where the heck did the ring come from? I’m hoping it was a gift and not his own purchase. But then what acquaintance of his would pick out one of the most stereotypical Italian-American ornamental pieces for the man who could pass for Tony Soprano?

TVal, thank you first of all for giving me fodder for my blog. I can always count on you to shake things up on the Valpster. And, I do have to say, you surely know how to rock the bling at an age where many struggle just to get dressed in the morning without some assistance.

Rock on TVal.

One Response to “TVal is Blinging it”

  1. 1 The Healthy Apple

    LOVE IT BOOM….GO DADDY, GO!

    XO


Leave a Reply

